Natural gemstones have always been regarded as the most precious gifts of the earth. Gemstones have always been alluring, thanks to their beauty, their value and the magical powers they are supposed to have.   Let's learn about the birth, grading, and importance of gemstones in this day and age.

How gemstones are born:

Gemstones have been mined throughout the world to be used for decorative purposes since the beginning of times. As each crystal forms in different and very specific natural circumstances and needs the presence of specific chemicals, rocks or formations, the rarest gemstones are especially hard to find and they can be found in a very few places only.




The beautiful bright and shiny gemstones we get to see on photos are the end-result of a long and complex cleaning and cutting process done by cutting experts. In its raw form, most gemstone looks ordinary and unrecognizable. It takes a specially trained eye to distinguish them from any other rock formations in their natural habitat.

If you are looking for natural gemstones for sale you need to make sure you look for the proper trusted resource to avoid the risk of buying fake gemstones, for instance a Cz Diamond or a so-called cubic zirconia Diamond, that’ the most commonly used substitute for real diamonds.

The classification and grading of gemstones:

Precious and semi-precious gemstones

The differentiation between precious and semi-precious gemstones goes back to the ancient Greek times. According to this system, the precious gemstones include diamond, ruby, emerald and sapphire with all the other stones being called semi-precious. While these four are the most expensive to this day semi-precious gemstones are neither less valuable or less attractive than them.

The Mohs scale:

This scale determines a stone’s hardness and it’s important when it comes to specifying a stone's durability as part of jewelry. Diamonds are not only extremely popular for their beauty but for their exceptional durability. You can wear a diamond wedding ring every day for decades without a problem. The Mohs scale ranges from 5 to 10 with only diamond being graded higher than 9. The gemstones which are ranked between 8 to 9 on the Mohs scale are suitable for regular wear.

The 4C grading system

The quality of gemstones is determined according to a strict classification system called the 4C grading system. The 4 C stands for Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat and each one of these qualities have a key role in determining the actual value of a gemstone on the jewelry market. The higher the grade of clarity and color, the larger is the carat (the size/weight) of the stone, the pricier it becomes. Each precious gemstone receives an official certificate enlisting their 4C grades alongside other important details.

Natural gemstones vs. lab created gemstones

In order to make precious gemstones more accessible to the public, scientists have devised various methods to enable the forming of precious gemstones in a controlled and regulated lab environment.

Lab created gemstones are much cheaper, more affordable and they are often used as substitutes for precious stones.