Infrastructure as a service (IaaS), platform as a service (PaaS), serverless computing, and software as a service are the four main types of cloud computing services (SaaS). Because they are built on top of one another, they are frequently referred to as the cloud computing stack. Understanding what they are and how they differ makes it easier to achieve your company objectives.

Infrastructure as a service (IaaS)

Cloud computing services in their most basic form. You rent IT infrastructure—servers and virtual machines (VMs), storage, networks, and operating systems—on a pay-as-you-go basis from a cloud provider with IaaS.

Platform as a service (PaaS)

Cloud computing services that provide an on-demand environment for designing, testing, delivering, and maintaining software applications are referred to as platform as a service. PaaS was created to make it easier for developers to construct web or mobile apps rapidly without having to worry about setting up or managing the underlying infrastructure of servers, storage, network, and databases.

Serverless computing

Serverless computing, which overlaps with PaaS, focuses on developing app functionality without having to constantly manage the servers and infrastructure required to do it. Setup, capacity planning, and server management are all handled by the cloud provider. Serverless architectures are scalable and event-driven, meaning they only use resources when a specified function or trigger occurs.


Learn more about serverless computing

Software as a service (SaaS)

Software as a service (SaaS) is a technique of distributing software programmes via the Internet on demand and usually by subscription. SaaS allows cloud providers to host and manage software applications and underlying infrastructure, as well as handle maintenance such as software upgrades and security patches. Users access the app over the Internet, commonly through a web browser on their phone, tablet, or computer.